#### **OFFICERS 2022-2024**

RYAN RONCO PRESIDENT Placer County

REBECCA SPENCER VICE PRESIDENT Riverside County

JESSE SALINAS TREASURER Yolo County

TRICIA WEBBER SECRETARY Santa Cruz County

## **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

#### APPOINTED:

SHANNON BUSHEY Santa Clara County

JOHN GARDNER Solano County

REBECCA TURNER Calaveras County

JOHN TUTEUR Napa County

#### **ADVISORY COUNCIL:**

CATHY DARLING ALLEN Shasta County JOE HOLLAND

Santa Barbara County

DONNA JOHNSTON Sutter County

DEAN LOGAN Los Angeles County

REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County

#### **ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:**

NATALIE ADONA Mother Lode Area Nevada County

KATRINA BARTOLOME Northern Area Mendocino County

BOB PAGE Southern Area Orange County

DEVA PROTO Bay Area Sonoma County

LUPE VILLA Central Area Kings County

## LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES

\*\*voting member

#### **CLERK OF THE BOARD:**

EDDIE YEN\*\* Los Angeles County

#### COUNTY CLERK:

DONNA ALLRED\*\* Sacramento County

VAL HANDFIELD San Diego County

#### **ELECTIONS**:

JAMES KUS\*\*
Fresno County
BOB PAGE
Orange County
TRICIA WEBBER
Santa Cruz County



# CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

### **RYAN RONCO, PRESIDENT**

Placer County Clerk-Recorder/Registrar of Voters PO Box 5278, Auburn, CA 95604 (530) 886-5690

E-Mail: <a href="mailto:rronco@placer.ca.gov">rronco@placer.ca.gov</a>
CACEO website: <a href="mailto:www.caceo58.org">www.caceo58.org</a>

March 8, 2023

The Honorable Assemblymember Isaac G. Bryan Chair, Assembly Elections Committee 1020 N Street, Room 365 Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: AB 13 (Essayli) Elections: Election Day holiday: voting by mail - OPPOSE

Dear Assemblymember Bryan:

The California Association of Clerks and Election Officials (CACEO) Elections Legislative Committee must regrettably oppose Assembly Bill 13 (Essayli), which would repeal the California Voter's Choice Act of 2016 and restore prior restrictions on vote-by-mail ballots.

As the officials charged with conducting fair and transparent elections in California, we share Assemblymember Essayli's desire to "strengthen the integrity of our elections while ensuring the will of the voters is timely and accurately represented," which he expressed in a December 5, 2022 news release about AB 13. CACEO's oppoisiton is due to unintended impacts of the proposed changes in AB 13 that are counter to the commitment to ensuring voters have access, choice and convenience when exercising their right to vote.

Twenty-seven counties in the state have adopted the Voter's Choice Act election model, which provides that a ballot will be mailed to all active registered voters in the county and provides voters with several ways to cast their vote-by-mail ballot and 11 days of in-person voting at any vote center in the county.

Through several pieces of legislation adopted since 2020, all counties in the state must mail a ballot to their active registered voters. This has resulted in more and more voters choosing to cast a vote-by-mail ballot. In the 2022 General Election, 87.52% of the ballots cast in the state were vote-by-mail ballots returned through the U.S. Postal Service or placed in a ballot drop box or dropped off at a vote center or polling place.

AB 13 would repeal the Voter's Choice Act, and it would restore the old, no longer existing, restrictions on vote-by-mail ballots, including:

- Voters must request a vote-by-mail ballot or apply to be a permanent vote-by-mail voter in writing.
- Voters may only authorize a spouse, child, parent, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, or a
  person residing in the same household as the voter to return their vote-by-mail ballot.
- Vote-by-mail ballots must be postmarked on or before Election Day and received by the voter's elections official via the United States Postal Service or a bona fide private mail delivery company no later than three days after Election Day.

Page 2
 March 8, 2023

CACEO appreciates Assemblymember Essayli's desire to improve the integrity of elections. But as his proposal would reduce voters' access to the ballot box, we respectfully request the committee's NO vote on AB 13.

If you or your staff has any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at <a href="mailto:tricia.webber@santacruzcounty.us">tricia.webber@santacruzcounty.us</a> or (831) 454-2409, or my co-chairs James Kus, at <a href="mailto:jkus@fresnocountyca.gov">jkus@fresnocountyca.gov</a> or (559) 600-1730 or Bob Page at <a href="mailto:bob.page@ocvote.gov">bob.page@ocvote.gov</a> or (714) 567-7620-5690.

Respectfully,

Tricia Webber

SicialEbber

Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

cc: Assemblymember Essayli (Author)

Rob Grossglauser, Pinnacle Advocacy LLC

James Kus and Bob Page, Co-Chairs, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee