#### **OFFICERS 2022-2024**

RYAN RONCO PRESIDENT Placer County

REBECCA SPENCER VICE PRESIDENT Riverside County

JESSE SALINAS TREASURER Yolo County

TRICIA WEBBER SECRETARY Santa Cruz County

# **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

## APPOINTED:

SHANNON BUSHEY Santa Clara County JOHN GARDNER Solano County REBECCA TURNER Calaveras County JOHN TUTFUR

#### **ADVISORY COUNCIL:**

Napa County

CATHY DARLING ALLEN Shasta County JOE HOLLAND Santa Barbara County DONNA JOHNSTON Sutter County DEAN LOGAN Los Angeles County REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County

## **ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:**

NATALIE ADONA Mother Lode Area Nevada County

KATRINA BARTOLOME Northern Area Mendocino County

BOB PAGE Southern Area Orange County

DEVA PROTO Bay Area Sonoma County

LUPE VILLA Central Area Kings County

# LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES

\*\*voting member

# CLERK OF THE BOARD:

EDDIE YEN\*\* Los Angeles County

#### COUNTY CLERK:

DONNA ALLRED\*\* Sacramento County

VAL HANDFIELD San Diego County

#### **ELECTIONS**:

JAMES KUS\*\*
Fresno County
BOB PAGE
Orange County
TRICIA WEBBER
Santa Cruz County



# CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

## RYAN RONCO, PRESIDENT

Placer County Clerk-Recorder/Registrar of Voters PO Box 5278, Auburn, CA 95604 (530) 886-5690

E-Mail: <a href="mailto:rronco@placer.ca.gov">rronco@placer.ca.gov</a> CACEO website: <a href="mailto:www.caceo58.org">www.caceo58.org</a>

March 8, 2023

The Honorable Assemblymember Isaac G. Bryan Chair, Assembly Elections Committee 1020 N Street, Room 365 Sacramento, CA 95814

SUBJECT: AB 398 (Pellerin) Voting: replacement ballots - SUPPORT

Dear Assemblymember Bryan:

The California Association of Clerks and Election Officials (CACEO) Elections Legislative Committee is pleased to sponsor and support Assembly Bill 398 (Pellerin), relating to voting and the issuance of replacement ballots. AB 398 will allow elections officials to service voters, including military and overseas voters, more efficiently while ensuring that all who are eligible to vote can do so.

Under current law, elections officials are required to provide a second vote by mail voter ballot to any voter upon receipt of a statement under penalty of perjury that the voter has failed to receive, lost, or destroyed their original ballot. Without first receiving a statement under penalty of perjury from the voter, election officials are currently barred from issuing a replacement ballot, even if that voter has already contacted the election official to request a replacement ballot. In these instances, a voter may be subjected to a longer wait period as they work through all of the steps that are necessary to initiate the replacement ballot process.

AB 398 clears the way for elections officials to properly and more efficiently service voters by allowing election officials to quickly act on replacement ballot requests as they are received. Election officials will be able to initiate the replacement ballot process, in real time, as the voter makes the request. Additionally, AB 398 will treat voters equally by removing this same ballot replacement requirement for military and overseas voters thereby ensuring that they too have access to this same important service just like their domestic counterparts. Finally, as you may be aware, elections officials only count one ballot for each voter and have processes in the place to reject any additional ballots cast should a voter attempt to abuse the replacement ballot process to vote more than once.

CACEO greatly appreciates Assemblymember Pellerin's focus on of efficient election administration practices. We respectfully request the committee's AYE vote on AB 398.

If you or your staff has any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at <a href="mailto:tricia.webber@santacruzcounty.us">tricia.webber@santacruzcounty.us</a> or (831) 454-2409, or my co-chairs James Kus, at <a href="mailto:jkus@fresnocountyca.gov">jkus@fresnocountyca.gov</a> or (559) 600-1730 or Bob Page at <a href="mailto:bob.page@ocvote.gov">bob.page@ocvote.gov</a> or (714) 567-7620-5690.

Respectfully,

101

Tricia Webber

Siciallebber

Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee
California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

cc: Assemblymember Pellerin (Author)
Rob Grossglauser, Pinnacle Advocacy LLC
James Kus and Bob Page, Co-Chairs, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee