OFFICERS 2006-2008

STEVE WEIR PRESIDENT Contra Costa County 524 Main Street Martinez, CA 94553 (925) 646-2955 sweir@cr.cccounty.us

REBECCA MARTINEZ VICE PRESIDENT Madera County

MIKEL HAAS TREASURER San Diego County

GAIL PELLERIN SECRETARY Santa Cruz County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPOINTED:

JANICE ATKINSON Sonoma County DARLENE BLOÓM Orange County CATHY DARLING Shasta County CANDACE GRUBBS **Butte County** JOSEPH HOLLAND Santa Barbara County **DEAN LOGAN** Los Angeles County JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County KATHIE MORAN Colusa County DOLORES PROVENCIO Imperial County ELMA ROSAS Santa Clara County **KAY VINSON*** City Clerk, Murrieta * non-voting member ELECTED: JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County BARBARA DUNMORE Southern Area **Riverside County** CANDY LOPEZ Bay Area Contra Costa County LEE LUNDRIGAN

Central Area Stanislaus County JIM MCCAULEY Mother Lode Area Placer County

ADVISORY COUNCIL

CONNY MCCORMACK Los Angeles County MARSHA WHARFF Mendocino County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES

CLERK OF THE BOARD: SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK: KATHIE MORAN Colusa County

VICKI PETERŚEN Sonoma County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County DEBORAH SEILER Solano County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

March 21, 2007

Assembly Member Chuck DeVore State Capitol, Room 4102 Sacramento, CA 94249-0070

Dear Assembly Member DeVore:

The Elections Legislative Committee of the California Association of Clerks and Election Officials (CACEO) would like to express its appreciation to you for introducing **AB 332** (on February 13, 2007). This bill brings the time period in which to verify signatures on recall petitions into conformity with the verification period for initiative petitions, by excluding Saturdays, Sundays and holidays.

This clarification will allow sufficient time for the verification of signatures on a recall petition. The Committee has adopted a position of **Support** in regard to this bill.

Should you have any questions in this regard, please do not hesitate to contact me at the Sonoma County Clerk-Recorder-Assessor's Office,(707) 565-1877.

Very truly yours,

Janice Atkinson, Correspondence Secretary Elections Legislative Committee California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

c: Senator Ron Calderon, Chair, Elections, Reapportionment and Constitutional Amendments Committee Assembly Member Curren Price, Chair, Committee on Elections and Redistricting Deborah Seiler, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee Jill Lavine, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee

Caceo 07-11