OFFICERS 2010-2012

GAIL L. PELLERIN PRESIDENT Santa Cruz County

CATHY DARLING ALLEN VICE PRESIDENT Shasta County

NEAL KELLEY TREASURER Orange County

DEAN LOGAN SECRETARY Los Angeles County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County JANICE ATKINSON Sonoma County

TESS FITZGERALD Santa Cruz County

SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County

JOSEPH HOLLAND Santa Barbara County

JIM MC CAULEY Placer County

KATHIE MORAN Colusa County

SUSAN M. RANOCHAK Mendocino County

JULIE RODEWALD San Luis Obispo County

DEBORAH SEILER San Diego County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Fremont City Clerk * non-voting member

ADVISORY COUNCIL:

STEVE WEIR Contra Costa County REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County

ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County

KARI VERJIL Southern Area Riverside County

JILL LAVINE Mother Lode Area Sacramento County

AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area San Joaquin County

LINDSEY MC WILLIAMS Bay Area Solano County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County JOHN MCKIBBEN

Los Angeles County COUNTY CLERK:

KATHIE MORAN Colusa County

VICKI PETERSEN Sonoma County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE
Sacramento County
DEBORAH SEILER
San Diego County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

GAIL L. PELLERIN, PRESIDENT

Santa Cruz County Clerk 701 Ocean St., Room 210, CA 95060 831-454-2419 * Fax 831-454-2445 * Cell 408-316-9745 E-Mail: gail.pellerin@co.santa-cruz.ca.us

Website: www.caceo58.org

April 12, 2011

State Assembly Member Bonnie Lowenthal State Capitol Room 3152 Sacramento, CA 94249-0054

Dear Assembly Member Lowenthal:

The California Association of Clerks and Election Officials (CACEO) Elections Legislative Committee has reviewed AB 362 (as amended March 14, 2011), and has adopted a position of Support, if amended to apply the amendments to section 8600 of the California Elections Code to all offices for which there are specific qualifications.

Elections officials understand the desire to ensure that write-in candidates for judicial office possess the qualifications to hold the office; however, Section 13.5 of the California Elections Codes lists five additional county offices that require a candidate seeking that office to prove their qualifications. This could be accomplished by inserting a statement (as illustrated below) that directs the candidate to submit information proving their qualifications.

8600. Every person who desires to be a write-in candidate and have his or her name as written on the ballot of an election counted for a particular office shall file:

- (a) A statement of write-in candidacy that contains the following information:
 - (1) Candidate's name.
 - (2) Residence address.
 - (3) A declaration stating that he or she is a write-in candidate.
 - (4) The title of the office for which he or she is running.
 - (5) The party nomination which he or she seeks, if running in a partisan primary election.
 - (6) The date of the election.
- (7) For the office of superior court judge, a statement that the person satisfies the eligibility requirements of Section 15 of Article VI of the California Constitution. A statement pursuant to Section 13.5 of the California Elections Code that is sufficient enough to establish that the write-in candidate meets the statutory and constitutional qualifications required to hold such office.
- (b) The requisite number of signatures on the nomination papers, if any, required pursuant to Sections 8062, 10220, and 10510 or, in the case of a special district not subject to the Uniform District Election Law (Part 4 (commencing with Section 10500) of Division 10), the number of signatures required by the principal act of the district.

If you or your staff have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me at the Monterey County Elections Department, at (831) 796-1499.

Very truly yours

Linda Tulett

Correspondence Secretary

California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

 Assembly Member Paul Fong, Chair, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting Senator Lou Correa, Chair, Senate Committee on Elections, Reapportionment and Constitutional Amendments

Deborah Seiler, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee Jill Lavine, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates

Officium Populi - Office of the People