OFFICERS 2010-2012

GAIL L. PELLERIN PRESIDENT Santa Cruz County

CATHY DARLING ALLEN VICE PRESIDENT Shasta County

NEAL KELLEY TREASURER Orange County

DEAN LOGAN SECRETARY Los Angeles County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County JANICE ATKINSON Sonoma County TESS FITZGERALD Santa Cruz County

SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County

JOSEPH HOLLAND Santa Barbara County

JIM MC CAULEY Placer County

KATHIE MORAN Colusa County

SUSAN M. RANOCHAK Mendocino County

JULIE RODEWALD San Luis Obispo County

DEBORAH SEILER San Diego County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Fremont City Clerk * non-voting member

ADVISORY COUNCIL:

STEVE WEIR Contra Costa County REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County

ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County

KARI VERJIL Southern Area Riverside County

JILL LAVINE Mother Lode Area Sacramento County

AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area San Joaquin County

LINDSEY MC WILLIAMS Bay Area Solano County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County

JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

KATHIE MORAN Colusa County

VICKI PETERSEN Sonoma County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County DEBORAH SEILER San Diego County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

GAIL L. PELLERIN, PRESIDENT

Santa Cruz County Clerk 701 Ocean St., Room 210, CA 95060 831-454-2419 * Fax 831-454-2445 * Cell 408-316-9745 E-Mail: gail.pellerin@co.santa-cruz.ca.us

Website: www.caceo58.org

July 28, 2011

The Honorable Jerry Brown Governor, State of California State Capitol Sacramento, CA 95814

Dear Governor Brown:

The Elections Legislative Committee of the California Association of Clerks and Election Officials (CACEO) urges your approval of **AB 80 (Fong)**, changing the date of the Presidential Primary Election to be consolidated with the Direct Primary Election in even-numbered years divisible by four.

While some counties have voiced increased cost concerns, and at least one county has raised concerns regarding the limitation of its voting system, particularly in light of California's new "Top-Two Primary" election rules, the Committee does support and urge your approval of this proposal. Moving the Presidential Primary back to June in even-numbered years divisible by four will help with the compacted time frames which always occur as a result of redistricting and will save costs for many counties by eliminating an entire statewide election.

Please consider our support upon your final review and determination of whether or not to sign AB 80 into law. If you or your staff have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me at the Monterey County Elections Department, at (831) 796-1499.

Very truly yours,

Linda Tulett
Correspondence Secretary
California Association of Clerks
and Election Officials

c: Assembly Member Paul Fong, Author
 Deborah Seiler, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee
 Jill Lavine, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee
 Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates