OFFICERS 2008-2010

REBECCA MARTINEZ PRESIDENT Madera County

GAIL PELLERIN VICE PRESIDENT Santa Cruz County

CATHY DARLING TREASURER Shasta County

NEAL KELLEY SECRETARY Orange County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County JANICE ATKINSON Sonoma County DARLENE BLOÓM Orange County FREDĚRICK GARCIA Sacramento County JOSEPH HOLLAND Santa Barbara County **DEAN LOGAN** Los Angeles County KATHIE MORAN Colusa County **DOLORES PROVENCIO** Imperial County SUSAN M. RANOCHAK Mendocino County JULIE RODEWALD San Luis Obispo County KAY VINSON*

ELECTED:

City Clerk, Murietta
* non-voting member

JULIE BUSTAMANTE
Northern Area
Lassen County
BARBARA DUNMORE
Southern Area
Riverside County
LINDSEY MCWILLIAMS
Bay Area
Solano County
LEE LUNDRIGAN
Central Area
Stanislaus County
JILL LaVINE
Mother Lode Area
Sacramento County

ADVISORY COUNCIL

STEVE WEIR Contra Costa County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES

CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

KATHIE MORAN Colusa County VICKI PETERSEN Sonoma County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LaVINE Sacramento County DEBORAH SEILER Solano County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

Rebecca Martinez, President Madera County Clerk-Recorder 200 West 4th Street, Madera, CA 93637 (559) 675-7721; FAX (559) 675-7870 E-Mail: rmartinez@madera-county.com

Website: www.caceo58.org

BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING JULY 11, 2008 LONG BEACH, CALIFORNIA

President Rebecca Martinez called the meeting to order at 8:06 a.m.

Present: Rebecca Martinez. Madera County

Gail Pellerin, Santa Cruz County Cathy Darling, Shasta County Neal Kelley, Orange County Steven Weir, Contra Costa County Lee Lundrigan, Stanislaus County John McKibben, Los Angeles County Sachi Hamai, Los Angeles County Dean Logan, Los Angeles County Barbara Dunmore, Riverside County

Kathie Moran, Colusa County
Joe Holland, Santa Barbara County
Gina Alcomedndras, Santa Clara County
Frederick Garcia, Sacramento County
Jill LaVine, Sacramento County
Janice Atkinson, Sonoma County
Julie Bustamante, Lassen County
Sue Ranochak, Mendocino County

INTRODUCTION OF NEW BOARD MEMBERS AND COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Dolores Provencio, Imperial County

President Rebecca Martinez began the meeting by congratulating the new board members and committee chairs for the 2008/2009 year. She noted that Neal Kelley was ill the night before and was not able to attend the installation dinner. Neal Kelley was sworn in to serve as the new Secretary.

Page 2
 August 13, 2008

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Approval of the Minutes from the July 8, 2008 Board of Directors meeting were deferred to the next Board of Directors meeting in December.

APPROVE COMMITTEE CHAIRS

A new list of the standing committees and their Chairs were passed out to those in attendance. President Martinez suggested adding a special committee to oversee the county clerk reference manual. It was recommended that Gina Alcomendras and Vicki Peterson (who have been working on the manual) oversee the committee.

Gail Pellerin made the motion to approve which was seconded by Janice Atkinson, and approved unanimously.

Steve Weir volunteered to continue in his capacity as the CACEO's appointment to the Election Assistance Commission's advisory committee which meets once per year. He pointed out that the panel currently consists of 111 individuals from throughout the country.

Dean Logan made the motion to approve which was seconded by Lee Lundrigan, and approved unanimously.

DISCUSSION TO AMMEND BYLAWS TO DEFINE EXECUTIVE BOARD

After a discussion of the issues, President Martinez noted that several possible suggestions had arisen and deferred to the Board. It was mutually agreed upon that the status quo should remain and to leave the officers and their designations as is.

SCHEDULE A FUTURE DATE FOR BRAINSTORMING SESSION

President Martinez suggested conducting a brainstorming session for the new Board of Directors at the upcoming Legislative Committee meeting in Sacramento, scheduled for August 6-8, 2008. Several suggestions were floated but it was the consensus of the Board that the meeting takes place August 6, 2008 beginning at 10 a.m. Jill LaVine offered her office space as a meeting site. President Martinez told the Board of Directors to plan for a full day.

OTHER BUSINESS

None.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 9:08 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Neal Kelley, Secretary