OFFICERS 2010-2012

GAIL L. PELLERIN PRESIDENT Santa Cruz County

CATHY DARLING ALLEN VICE PRESIDENT Shasta County

NEAL KELLEY TREASURER Orange County

DEAN LOGAN SECRETARY Los Angeles County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County JANICE ATKINSON Sonoma County

TESS FITZGERALD Santa Cruz County

SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County

JOSEPH HOLLAND Santa Barbara County

JIM MC CAULEY Placer County

KATHIE MORAN Colusa County

SUSAN M. RANOCHAK Mendocino County

JULIE RODEWALD San Luis Obispo County

DEBORAH SEILER San Diego County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Fremont City Clerk * non-voting member

ADVISORY COUNCIL:

STEVE WEIR Contra Costa County REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County

ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County

KARI VERJIL Southern Area Riverside County

JILL LAVINE Mother Lode Area Sacramento County

AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area San Joaquin County

LINDSEY MC WILLIAMS Bay Area Solano County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County JOHN MCKIBBEN

Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

KATHIE MORAN Colusa County

VICKI PETERSEN Sonoma County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County DEBORAH SEILER San Diego County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

GAIL L. PELLERIN, PRESIDENT

Santa Cruz County Clerk
701 Ocean St., Room 210, CA 95060
831-454-2419 * Fax 831-454-2445 * Cell 408-316-9745
E-Mail: gail.pellerin@co.santa-cruz.ca.us
Website: www.caceo58.org

ANNUAL CONFERENCE GENERAL SESSION JULY 20, 2011

Squaw Valley, USA

The General Session commenced at approximately 9:20 AM and was called to order by President Gail Pellerin.

The Placer County Sheriff's Honor Guard made the Presentation of Colors. Barbara Chambers (Contra Costa) led us in the Pledge of Allegiance followed by the National Anthem sung by Gloria Colter and Celia Peterson, staff of the Sonoma County Clerk-Recorder-Assessor who graciously stepped in when the scheduled vocalist was unable to attend.

President Gail Pellerin welcomed attendees to the conference and recognized the Association Officers and Board of Directors.

Consistent with the conference Olympics theme and location, conference co-chairs Sutter County Clerk-Recorder Donna Johnston and Sacramento County Registrar of Voters Jill LaVine simulated a ceremonial lighting of the torch to commemorate the opening of the conference.

Secretary Dean Logan conducted the Roll Call of Counties. Each principal or senior staff from each County introduced their attendees and a display of county flags/seals was prepared and placed on display in the main meeting room throughout the conference.

President Gail Pellerin presented the Association Report.

The first order of business was consideration of a proposed By-Laws amendment. The proposal had been previously considered by the Board of Directors and approved for consideration by the full association. The proposal was distributed to all counties prior to the conference (attached). A motion to approve the By-Laws Amendment was made by Steve Weir (Contra Costa) and seconded by Deborah Seiler (San Diego). The motion passed on voice vote; By-Laws Amendment APPROVED.

Presentation of the Association Budget was deferred pending further refinement based on discussion held at the July 19, 2011 Board of Directors meeting. Treasurer Neal Kelley will convene the Budget Committee and present a revised budget proposal at the next Board of Directors meeting.

President Gail Pellerin recognized recent and pending retirees from the Association. Retirement gifts were presented to Jesse Durazo, Santa Clara County Registrar of Voters (accepted by Elma Rosas) and to Barbara Chambers, Assistant Clerk-Recorder, Contra Costa County.

Page 2
 August 9, 2011

An opportunity drawing was conducted for those attendees who participated in the early bird conference registration. Diane Jones (Sacramento) was the winner.

President Gail Pellerin introduced Conference Co-Hosts Jill LaVine (Sacramento) and Donna Johnston (Sutter) who covered conference logistics and recognized the hard work of their respective employees' assistance with the conference.

Following a refreshment break in the exhibitor hall, the General Session continued with a dynamic and inspirational keynote presentation by two-time Olympic Gold Medalist and WNBA Star Ruthie Bolton entitled "Light the Fire Within."

General Session concluded at approximately 12:00 Noon.

Submitted by:

Dean Logan, Secretary

Attachment: By-Laws Proposal

TO: Principal Membership of the Association FROM: Gail Pellerin, President, CACEO RE: Proposed Bylaw Changes

DATE: July 1, 2011

Attached are the CACEO bylaws with proposed amendments.

To summarize, the amendments do the following:

- Change the composition of the Board of Directors to include the chair or (in the event there are multiple co-chairs) one co-chair of each of the three Legislative Committees; (specify that an unselected co-chair sits on the BoD in an advisory capacity only.
- 2. Reduce the number of Directors appointed by the President from 10 to 7
- Specify that one City Clerk shall serve as a Member of the Board of Directors in a non-voting capacity.
- Establish the Site Selection and Conference Planning Committee as a Standing Committee, with the Chair to be appointed by the President.
- 5. Establishes that the Budget Committee shall include one member representing each of the disciplines, and shall meet no later than March 31st of each year to prepare the budget for the ensuing year. Also establishes that the Board of Directors shall meet prior to June 30st each year to review and adopt the budget for the ensuing fiscal year.
- Eliminates the necessity that the ratification by a majority of the principal members occur at or immediately following the annual meeting, just that the ratification must occur. This will allow ratification by phone or e-mail and speed up the process.

The proposed amendments were reviewed by the CACEO Constitution and Bylaws Committee, and , pursuant to Article XIII Section 2 of the bylaws, adopted by a 2/3 vote of the Board of Directors and are now subject to ratification by the majority vote of the Principal Membership at the annual meeting.