OFFICERS 2010-2012

GAIL L. PELLERIN PRESIDENT Santa Cruz County CATHY DARLING ALLEN VICE PRESIDENT Shasta County NEAL KELLEY TREASURER Orange County DEAN LOGAN SECRETARY Los Angeles County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County JANICE ATKINSON Sonoma County TESS FITZGERALD Santa Cruz County SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County JOSEPH HOLLAND Santa Barbara County JIM MC CAULEY Placer County KATHIE MORAN Colusa County SUSAN M. RANOCHAK Mendocino County JULIE RODEWALD San Luis Obispo County DEBORAH SEILER San Diego County DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Fremont City Clerk * non-voting member ADVISORY COUNCIL: STEVE WEIR Contra Costa County REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County ELECTED AREA CHAIRS: JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County KARI VERJIL Southern Area **Riverside County** JILL LAVINE Mother Lode Area Sacramento County AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area San Joaquin County

LINDSEY MC WILLIAMS Bay Area Solano County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

KATHIE MORAN Colusa County VICKI PETERSEN

Sonoma County ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

DEBORAH SEILER San Diego County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

GAIL L. PELLERIN, PRESIDENT Santa Cruz County Clerk 701 Ocean St., Room 210, CA 95060 831-454-2419 * Fax 831-454-2445 * Cell 408-316-9745 E-Mail: gail.pellerin@co.santa-cruz.ca.us Website: www.caceo58.org

September 1, 2011

The Honorable Jerry Brown Governor, State of California State Capitol Sacramento, CA 95814

Dear Governor Brown:

The California Association of Clerks and Election Officials Elections Legislative Committee urges your approval of **SB 441 (Vargas)**, which now awaits your signature. This proposal was **supported** by the Legislative Committee as it will repeal certain provisions of existing law relating to political party contributor envelopes or letters, as specified, to be included with the sample ballot in the voter information guide prepared and mailed by the county elections official.

In a letter of support to Senator Vargas, the Association pointed out that, during the June 2010 statewide direct primary election, county central committees in the counties of San Diego, Yolo, and Los Angeles provided letters to the local elections officials that not only solicited funds, as allowed under Section 13305 of California's Election law, but also specifically advocated for the election of certain candidates of their parties. In San Diego County, the mailing was so specific to advocate for candidates, state propositions and local ballot measures, it had the appearance of a slate mailer; however, there was nothing specific in state law to prohibit distribution. In compliance with Section 13305, the Registrar of Voters published and distributed the materials in the voter information pamphlet. A lawsuit was filed County of San Diego against the Registrar of Voters costing over \$25,000 in legal fees to merely defend its compliance with existing law. A superior court upheld the ruling; however, the matter is now on appeal. Counties are not in a fiscal position to mount a legal defense of the practice of private organizations, such as organized central committees.

In addition to the above issues, the implementation of the new "Top Two Primary" mandates all candidates for partisan office appear on the same ballot, virtually doing away with political party specific voter information materials and partisan elections, excluding the office of President and county central committee. Should this policy remain in effect, not only will it impact the County's ability to affectively distribute political party committee materials to voters of that party (as required under the existing provision), it will continue to force local election officials to provide an inappropriate venue for political influence at the ballot box via official governmental materials.

If you or your staff have any questions or concerns please do not hesitate to contact me at the Monterey County Elections Department at (831) 796-1499.

Very truly yours,

C.

Linda Tulett Correspondence Secretary California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

Senator Juan Vargas, Author Deborah Seiler, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee Jill Lavine, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates