#### **OFFICERS 2010-2012**

GAIL L. PELLERIN PRESIDENT Santa Cruz County

CATHY DARLING ALLEN VICE PRESIDENT Shasta County

NEAL KELLEY TREASURER Orange County

DEAN LOGAN SECRETARY Los Angeles County

### **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

#### APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County JANICE ATKINSON Sonoma County TESS FITZGERALD Santa Cruz County

SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County

JOSEPH HOLLAND Santa Barbara County

JIM MC CAULEY Placer County

KATHIE MORAN Colusa County

SUSAN M. RANOCHAK Mendocino County

JULIE RODEWALD San Luis Obispo County

DEBORAH SEILER San Diego County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON\* Fremont City Clerk \* non-voting member

# ADVISORY COUNCIL:

STEVE WEIR Contra Costa County REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County

# **ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:**

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County

KARI VERJIL Southern Area Riverside County

JILL LAVINE Mother Lode Area Sacramento County

AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area San Joaquin County

San Joaquin County LINDSEY MC WILLIAMS

Bay Area Solano County

# LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County

JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County

# COUNTY CLERK:

KATHIE MORAN Colusa County

VICKI PETERSEN Sonoma County

#### **ELECTIONS**:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County DEBORAH SEILER San Diego County



# CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

# **GAIL L. PELLERIN, PRESIDENT**

Santa Cruz County Clerk
701 Ocean St., Room 210, CA 95060
831-454-2419 \* Fax 831-454-2445 \* Cell 408-316-9745
E-Mail: gail.pellerin@co.santa-cruz.ca.us

Website: www.caceo58.org

July 1, 2011

State Senator Leland Yee State Capitol Room 4074 Sacramento, CA 95814

# Dear Senator Yee:

The California Association of Clerks and Election Officials Elections Legislative Committee is **removing its original position, Oppose unless amended**, for **SB 88 (as amended June 23, 2011),** relating to phonetic transliteration of candidates' names in character-based languages.

In March, the Committee voted to oppose SB 88 unless it was amended, removing subsection (a)(3) of Elections Code Section 13217.1 that would establish a local appeal process to challenge the approved transliteration. This subsection has now been amended.

If you or your staff have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me at the Monterey County Elections Department, at (831) 796-1499.

Very truly yours,

Linda Tulett Correspondence Secretary California Association of Clerks

and Election Officials

 c: Assembly Member Paul Fong, Chair, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting Senator Lou Correa, Chair, Senate Committee on Elections, Reapportionment and Constitutional Amendments Deborah Seiler, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee

Jill Lavine, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee
Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates